Center for Korean Studies Scholarships for 2010–2011 Awarded

The Cen­ter for Kore­an Stud­ies has award­ed near­ly $100,000 in schol­ar­ships to Uni­ver­si­ty of Hawai’i at Mānoa stu­dents for the com­ing aca­d­e­m­ic year. The 2010–2011 award recip­i­ents are list­ed below. For more infor­ma­tion on the schol­ar­ships and grants admin­is­tered by the Cen­ter for Kore­an Stud­ies, see

Don­ald Kim Schol­ar­ship
Jonathan Jarvis, Ph.D., Soci­ol­o­gy ($10,000)
Jong Woo Kim, Ph.D., Archi­tec­ture ($3,000)

Her­bert H. Lee Schol­ar­ship
Somang Cho, M.A., Business-Finance ($4,000)
Clarice Chun, Under­grad­u­ate, Kore­an Flag­ship ($1,000)
Lydia Chung, M.A., Kore­an Flag­ship ($4,000)
Cin­jeon Gauh, M.A., Kore­an Flag­ship ($4,000),
David Hur, M.A., Kore­an Flag­ship ($4,000)
Soo Ji Jung, Under­grad­u­ate (polit­i­cal science)/Korean Flagship/ Busi­ness ($1,000)
Peg­gy Kang, Under­grad­u­ate (sec­ond lan­guage studies)/Korean Flag­ship ($1,000)
Sohyung Kim, Under­grad­u­ate (accounting)/Korean Flag­ship ($3,500)
Soon Jung Kim, Under­grad­u­ate (inter­na­tion­al busi­ness, busi­ness management)/Korean Flag­ship ($3,500)
Anna Lee, Undergraduate/Korean Flag­ship ($1,000)
Jung Hee Lee, Under­grad­u­ate (journalism)/Korean Flag­ship ($3,500)
Dan­i­ca Lim, Undergraduate/Korean Flag­ship ($1,000)
Rachel Nam, Under­grad­u­ate (communication)/Korean Flag­ship ($1,000)
Yun Ju Oh, M.A., Kore­an Flag­ship ($3,000)
Kei­th Sei­del, M.A., Kore­an Flag­ship ($4,000)
Raina Yi, M.A., Kore­an Flag­ship ($3,000)
Inge­borg Zandee van Ril­land, Under­grad­u­ate (biology)/Korean Flag­ship ($3,500)

N.H. Paul Chung Grad­u­ate Schol­ar­ship
Edward Coates, M.A., Asian Stud­ies (Korea) ($1,750)

Kim Ch’ŏn-hÅ­ng Memo­r­i­al Schol­ar­ship
Ri Choi, M.A., Eth­no­mu­si­col­o­gy ($2,000)

Yŏng-Min Schol­ar­ship
Jon­nathan De La Fuente, M.A., Asian Stud­ies (Korea) ($1,750)
Hyun Ji Lee, M.A., Kore­an Lan­guage ($1,750)
Seung Hye Lee, Ph.D., Kore­an Lan­guage ($1,750)

Dong Jae and Hyung Ja Lee Endowed Schol­ar­ship
Stacey Cha, Under­grad­u­ate (inter­na­tion­al affairs)/Korean Flag­ship ($2,000)

Cen­ter for Kore­an Stud­ies Grad­u­ate Schol­ar­ship
Edward Coates, M.A., Asian Stud­ies (Korea) ($1,000)
Sorin Huh, Ph.D., Kore­an Lan­guage ($2,500)
Hee Yeong Jung, Ph.D., Kore­an Lan­guage ($2,500)
Eun Ho Kim, Ph.D., Kore­an Lan­guage ($2,500)
Ji Young Kim, Ph.D, Kore­an Lan­guage ($2,500)
Jin Sook Kim, Ph.D., Lin­guis­tics ($2,000)
So Young Kim, Ph.D., Lin­guis­tics ($1,000)
Haky­oon Lee, Ph.D. Sec­ond Lan­guage Stud­ies ($1,000)
Hye Seung Lee, Ph.D., Kore­an Lan­guage ($2,500)
Hyeon Ju Lee, Ph.D., Anthro­pol­o­gy ($1,500)
So Young Lee, Ph.D., Kore­an Lin­guis­tics ($2,500)
Heui-Yung Park, Ph.D., Eng­lish ($2,000)
Mi Yung Park, Ph.D., Kore­an Lan­guage ($2,500)
Jason Sung, Ph.D., Kore­an Lan­guag ($1,000)

Cen­ter for Kore­an Stud­ies Under­grad­u­ate Schol­ar­ship
Ji Eun Lee, Under­grad­u­ate (sec­ond lan­guage stud­ies) ($1,000)

In addi­tion to these schol­ar­ships admin­is­tered by the Cen­ter, fed­er­al­ly fund­ed For­eign Lan­guage and Area Stud­ies schol­ar­ships for Kore­an lan­guage study dur­ing sum­mer 2010 are being award­ed to Jon­nathan De La Fuente (M.A., Asian Stud­ies), and Kortne Oshiro-Chin (under­grad­u­ate, gen­er­al arts and sci­ences). Full-year For­eign Lan­guage and Area Stud­ies schol­ar­ships for 2010–2011 will be award­ed to Jake Botamer and Clark Cole­man, pro­vid­ed funds are avail­able.

The Cen­ter is also pro­vid­ing par­tial fund­ing ($1,500 each) to two stu­dents attend­ing the 3rd Korea-America Stu­dent Con­fer­ence July 12 to August 12, 2010. The two are John Kim (M.A. Kore­an Flag­ship) and Diana Maeng (M.A., Kore­an Flag­ship).